The Caskey Family


On Our Way!
January 6, 2012, 11:12 pm
Filed under: Faith Baptist Emporium, Pictures, Seminary

Louisville is behind us, our seminary journey has come to an end and career-ministry has begun!  God has been good to us.  Tonight we have stopped on the road on our way to Emporium, Pennsylvania.  We made it more than 2/3 the way there even though we didn’t start driving until after noon.  No traffic, safety, good weather, clear roads, happy children, what more could a momma ask for on a road trip?  Jeremy is driving the 26-foot U-Haul with our earthly belongings, Elijah rode with him and I lead the way with Merry and Micah in the minivan.  

Though we’ve moved now 8 times in our marriage, this is the first time we have not had the luxury of the military moving us.  I do have to say, though, that if you have to do it yourself (DITY as they call it in the military) the best place to move from is seminary housing in Louisville, Kentucky!  We had more than 30 people come help us load the U-Haul on Sunday afternoon and the entire truck was loaded and packed in about 2 1/2 hours total.  It was fun to watch. . .we are blessed so far beyond what we deserve!  We didn’t have to leave a single item behind and I am excited to see how it will all fit into the house next to the church (definitely much more room than the 2-bedroom apartment we’ve been snuggled into together for the last few years!)

The saddest part of this day was leaving my brother (and now like a son to me) Jonathan behind.  He is on the edge of turning 18, has a great job, friends, a place to live and a church that loves him very well.  I couldn’t have asked for a better situation for him to “leave the nest” but it was still so sad for us.  I cried my eyes out.  I love that young man with such a big part of my heart, and though I am so proud of how he is living his life, I still wish we could hang onto him physically a little longer.  But he knows I’d say that even if he was leaving the nest at 35!  The children keep asking for him, and he is already sorely missed, although I’m sure he’s enjoying sleeping in later, staying up later and having a quieter environment 🙂

Here he is after playing soccer with Elijah and some of his friends

 

All I could talk about the last few days was how everyone of our friends should come visit us and see what God is doing in Emporium!  

 

I need to head to bed – everyone else is out and we have a few hours of driving left tomorrow, then unloading the U-Haul, YAY!!! The church there has arranged for a moving crew of able-bodied men to help with the job, so we are already so blessed, and Miss Dottie has sloppy joes in the crock pot to serve the men and us.

It will probably be a few days before I can update, but hopefully I will get some pictures up here too.

Please keep praying that we will bring glory to God and honor to HIS name as we begin this next chapter of our lives! Also, please pray for our children as they will be adjusting to a very different life.