The Caskey Family


Small-Town News
March 29, 2012, 9:30 am
Filed under: Elijah, Faith Baptist Emporium

Small-town experiences have kept us smiling lately:  

  • Everyone knows your name, even if you don’t know theirs, 
  • We are enjoying the laid-back quiet that only small towns can offer
  • Filling up on gas only every other week at the most
  • Small-town news. . .our greatest source of entertainment (details to follow)

Only a few weeks after our arrival, someone very concernedly asked me if when we were leaving.  Apparently, rumor had it that we were picking up and leaving already.  

Of course we had to have a little fun messing with our deacon, then just this week, Jeremy traveled to McGuire AFB to interview for a reserve Chaplain position closer to us here (he is bi-vocational at the church so he is free to continue his reserve duty periodically, and this affords us military medical insurance).  While he was away, I got another phone call, and I was informed of more small-town news:Jeremy was interviewing at another church in New Jersey, and if he got the job, we would apparently be taking that position and moving away from Emporium.  Wow! The funny thing was, I probably was the one to start that rumor, because it was no secret that Jeremy was going away to interview for a reserve position, but I probably just mentioned in passing to someone (who didn’t know the details) that Jeremy was out of town interviewing.  And of course they filled in their own details.  

Small-town news starts in first grade, it seems, because yesterday Elijah came home from school insisting that there was no school today (Thursday).  He named several children (obviously very reliable sources) in his class who had informed him that there was no school today.  We assured him that there was no holiday until next week.  Still, he woke me up this morning, still in his pajamas (he usually gets up and dresses himself before most of the house is up) and kept insisting that I call the school or check online to see if there was school today.  I told him that his classmates had it wrong, and it wasn’t true that school was out today.  “Get dressed and go downstairs.  The bus will be here to get you at the regular time.”  He obeyed, but seemed still convinced that I was misinformed.  After I got everyone off to school and got ready for the day, I sat down to my computer to find this google search open in my  browser: 

“is there going to be school today”

No county, no school name.  Just that simple search.  Just to be sure, I checked, and Jeremy had not done the search.  I can’t stop laughing as I picture him coming down here confidently to do some real “RESEARCH” since mom apparently wasn’t in on the loop of the school calendar!

Enough fiction, here’s some of the REAL news in the Caskey house today!

Easter will mark our third-month anniversary here in Emporium, and we have SO much to praise God for!  

  • Jeremy has preached through the book of Haggai, and will finish 1 Thessalonians this Sunday.  (His sermons are all on our website www.faithemporium.org)  If you only listen to one sermon, I’d recommend the one titled “A Life Pleasing to God” it is so practical, and probably the clearest exposition of that text I’ve ever heard.  
  • Children’s Sunday School has been added
  • Jeremy completed the church website and has been keeping all his sermons on there
  • Preparation of the membership class curriculum was completed and this Sunday Jeremy will finish teaching the FIRST EVER membership class in the history of the church!  Most of the current membership and several candidates for membership attended, and have gleaned a lot.
  • Jeremy has preached at two inter-faith/inter-denominational events here in town (and boldly preached the Gospel of course!)
  • Both Jeremy and I have been discipling men and women individually, and in a few weeks we will be starting a Ladies’ Bible study.
Perhaps one of our favorite parts of ministry has been getting to know people, and getting to have them into our home.  We LOVE living right next to the church.  
 
Joy and peace to all of you, and may your heart rejoice today in the goodness of our great God, who supplies all of what we need and so much more, and who works in and through us to do HIS will for HIS glory!
 
 
6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I enjoyed this whole post, but the part about Elijah asking the computer if there was going to be school today really has me chuckling this morning! Isn’t that just what they see us doing? Asking the computer questions? Love you guys!

Comment by Cassie

This is a really great post! Thank you for the encouraging, informing, and humorous account.

Comment by cteldridge

I would love to have Jeremy as my pastor! We miss and love you guys.

Comment by Mat Alexander

We love and miss you all too! We’d be blessed to have you as our pastor too!

Comment by icaskey

Was my son one the first grade boys to miss inform your son….I was laughing out loud on that one. And I can so identify with everyone knowing your name but you don’t know their name….I have been here for 11 years and I still don’t know names but they know mine and it’s embarrassing if I have to ask. LOL

Comment by Tammy

Yes, Tammy, I think your son was one of the “reliable sources, although I was informed today after school that he corrected his information with Elijah. He was actually thinking NEXT Friday, according to Elijah. How interesting our world would be if it was run by first-graders!!

Comment by icaskey




Leave a Reply

