The Caskey Family


Disruptions and the Location of my Heart
February 24, 2012, 2:20 pm
Filed under: Adina, Discipleship, Faith Baptist Emporium

Disruptions are something I’m learning to appreciate. Today I had my schedule set up, and I was on track, headed in to the church to practice piano, to hear Jeremy’s sermon (I’m in the nursery this week, so when that happens I try to listen to his sermon earlier in the week so I can encourage him and get the sermon all at the same time). Then the phone rang and someone gave us information that put us in the car to visit someone in a matter of minutes. I thought for a second that this was going to mess up my day. But my day is God’s and HIS kingdom is more important than mine, right? So as we went to the home of one of our members as her husband was taken to the hospital in an ambulance, I had a choice: God’s priorities or mine?

As we return to our house from that call, we get another call with the news that compelled Jeremy to offer to preach on Sunday at another church that has a service later than ours. Jeremy is already preaching at 10 and 2 on Sunday. But he offers to preach still another time on Sunday, because it’s a God-given opportunity that Jeremy would never think of passing up.

I forgot to tell Elijah that we were picking him up from school early today, so I decided to make a detour (waste of time if you look at it from an earthly perspective) and stop into his school. I got to spend some really sweet time with him at lunch with his classmates, and talk with some of the lunch monitors.

Our day is only half over, and already we have had so many wide-open doors for sharing Christ, encouraging the Body and loving our neighbors. What more am I looking for? In view of heaven, I can label our day amazingly successful! When my heart is in heaven, then the glories and priorities of heaven are my mind and heart’s measuring stick. How humbling and exhilarating it is to have heaven’s tasks handed to such broken, deteriorating and sinful people as us.

Don’t think for a second, that this is just a choice to not complain about things not going according to my plan. This is, in fact, me laying down my INFERIOR schedule and plans for TODAY’S perfect, SUPERIOR ordained-before-the-foundation-of-the-world plans of Almighty God!

Oh, God, make us faithful to bring glory to YOU in all the tasks you set before us today!

Today I’m linking up with Christine Hoover, at Grace Covers Me as she launches her new book, “The Church Planting Wife” one of the most encouraging reads I have read in a long time! Check out my review on Amazon too (it’s the first one there), and pick it up to read and share with someone today!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Amen!!! I am learning, observing the same thing right now! This is indeed the day that the Lord has made! 2 Corinthians 5: 14-15… 1 Thes. 2:8, … Galations 2: 19-20, … Titus 2:12 are some of the verses I wrote in my journal last night! Have you read Compelled by Love, by Ed Stetzer and Philip Nation… its all about LOVING/Missional living. The funny thing is I actually bought it for YOU for your birthday last year and it’s inscribed to you and I found your Kentucky address on a index card inside… clearly I never got it in the mail! I will send it to you!!!!! Love you lots!!!!

Comment by Mary

Ah, I couldn’t help but feel my heart swell for you guys. Knowing about the uncertainty that kept you suspended all those months … not knowing what was ahead … to hear that things are going so well and that you two are fulfilling so much need for others … I’m so proud to call you my friends!

Comment by Julie

Excellent reminder!

Comment by ( : David,Katelyn,Lilian&Keith : )

Oh Adina! How true! So glad to hear things are going well for you all! Wonderful and amazing the paths God takes us on!

Comment by Michele




Leave a Reply

