The Caskey Family


I’m Not on Guam Anymore!
February 12, 2012, 6:03 pm
Filed under: Adina, Faith Baptist Emporium, Merry, Ministry

Yesterday the snow was falling thick, but the temperature was above freezing (go figure?) and I saw someone out in their short-sleeved t-shirt as I loaded my grocery bags into the car. . . bags that filled with snow in the few minutes from the store to the car.

And since when does a fleece count as a jacket?

It has been a mild winter for here (I do agree it has been very pleasant!) and so people are really taking advantage of the “balmy” weather with open-toed shoes, open jackets and rarely a hat, glove or scarf.

I guess I really look like the newbie here, decked out in every warm-weather piece of apparel I have. Don’t look at me weird, please. It’s freezing out here people. . .LITERALLY freezing! Merry, on the other hand, our thick-blooded Nebraska-born beauty goes out in her lightest coat, often un-zipped, in open-topped hot pink Sleeping Beauty shoes. At least she’s wearing socks. . .most days.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Randy and I had a good laugh regarding your experience with the cold weather. We both understand how really cold it can get. Some years ago, I took a job in Detroit and my experiences were very similiar to yours.. I remember being so cold (-8) that I would have to fill my bath tub with hot water to warm my body. You just can’t take an “Okie” girl and put her -8 degree weather. Keep warm and try the nice tub of hot water to warm up. Love you all.

Comment by Louise Ledger




Leave a Reply

