The Caskey Family


Contentment Examination Part 2 – My Thoughts
February 4, 2011, 9:44 am
Filed under: Discipleship

Contentment is not simply an issue of perspective for me (though that is a huge part). It is largely an issue of thought. . .and how I handle my thoughts! Here are a few more questions I ask on days I struggle with contentment:
(numbers 1-6 can be found in an earlier blog here: Contentment Examination Part I – My Perspective

7. Am I controlling my thoughts?
(Phil 4:8) Am I thinking on truth about God, about HIS power over all that is happening? Am I dwelling on purity and things of good report, or am I thinking about all that is not the way I want?

8. Am I praying about it?
(James 1:5, James 5:13)

9. Is my attitude humble?
(Romans 12:3, Eph. 4:2-3)

10. Am I remembering that heaven and Christ are my greatest joys?
(Psalm 17:15, Phil. 3:7-11, 3:20-21)

11. Is my heart willing to let go of fantasies and embrace the REAL joys God has given me (in being a wife, mother, child of God, ___________ (insert the role I am struggling with)
(Consider Esther, Rachel, Leah and other women in scripture who had difficult life situations, but were used by God to further HIS kingdom)

May God see fit to use US to further HIS kingdom today as we think HIS thoughts and find deep contentment in being a part of God’s greater plan and glory

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thank you my sister! So very true! Being snowed in for the 5th day has given me a lot of time to reflect on where I am with God and thinking of my witness to others as well!! You are such a blessing to me!! May God continue to use you for His glory and honor!!

Comment by janie

We are on the tail end of about a 2-week passing around of illnesses. . .I feel you!! May God bring great things out of this time of “quiet” for you!

Comment by icaskey




Leave a Reply

