The Caskey Family


Contentment Examination – Part I – My Perspective
February 3, 2011, 3:00 pm
Filed under: Discipleship, Seminary

Some days I struggle with being content. One day it’s about a certain aspect of mommyhood, another day it’s about wifehood, womanhood, or just life in general. I become overambitious about changing my circumstances and I often try to find my own way out.

After a recent bout of discontentment, and a search of the scriptures, I made a list of questions (16 total, I’ll just share a few today) to ask myself the next time I’m feeling unhappy, “in a rut,” grouchy, unhappy, or any other word I use to describe my discontent heart.

1. Am I remembering that I am a sinner, living in a sinful world surrounded by sinful people?
(Isaiah 64:6-7 Ps. 51:5, Romans 5:8)

2. Have I removed idols in my life (an idol is something I will sin to get or sin if I don’t get)?
(Deuteronomy 32:16, James 4:1-2, Col 3:5 and 1 Cor. 10:14)

3. Have I been praying about the issue?
(James 1:5 and James 5:13)

4. Am I overlooking offenses (if needed)
(Proverbs 19:11 and Ephesians 4:2)

5. Am I speaking the truth (to myself, always, and to others if needed)
(Eph 4:25)

6. Have I submitted my heart to the sanctification God is doing in me through this circumstance?
1 Peter 1:6-9 says, “In this you greatly rejoice, even though now for a little while, if necessary, you have been distressed by various trials, so that the proof of your faith, being more precious than gold which is perishable, even though tested by fire, may be found to result in praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ; and though you have not seen Him, you love Him, and though you do not see Him now, but believe in Him, you greatly rejoice with joy inexpressible and full of glory, obtaining as the outcome of your faith the salvation of your souls.

“Joy inexpressible” is the part I’m asking God to help me figure out!! It’s coming, though, as I see the struggles as NECESSARY for my faith and worth the result: joy in the process, the salvation of my soul and God’s glory all along!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh Adina! So true and what wonderful reminders to put us back on track. The Apostle Paul struggled at times with the flesh and longed for the day when he would be Free! I also, too easily, find myself wallowing in frustration and self pity when the answer is one breath away, giving praise to our Saviour. Like the old hymn, “Oh what peace we often forfeit, Oh what needless pain we bare; All because we do not carry everything to God in prayer.”

Comment by Kelly

This is fantastic. Stu Tully just forwarded this to me! We have been talking about this subject recently! You and I have some things in common. I would love to get better acquainted with you!

Comment by janie

Janie, please feel free to email me at adina77@hotmail.com or friend me on Facebook. I’m glad this blessed you! To God be the glory!

Comment by icaskey

You don’t know me but Stu Tully is a relative and passed your blog on to me and I in turn passed it on to my grown daughters who have young children. I wanted to share with how much we all appreciated what you had to say and it blessed our hearts ! Thanks for sharing, Shawna

Comment by Shawna




Leave a Reply

