The Caskey Family


Ordained Days
October 12, 2010, 2:55 pm
Filed under: Seminary

The what-if questions are so easy to ask.  So easy to find myself spiraling down with. . .down to LOTS of lies. We live near a street that people go pretty fast on.  We went camping with a campfire that someone could have toppled into this weekend.  My children eat things every few hours that they could choke on.  We have two toilets that they could drown in (it does happen, I’m not making this up.)

Philippians 4:8 tells me to dwell on things that are true, noble, right.  So what do I do if I find myself thinking about all the bad things that could happen to my children, or others I love?  Do what I know is wise and safe, of course, then trust God, not myself, or my efforts (even my best efforts are nothing compared to what God does in protecting us!)

For the days I find myself thinking too often (or worrying) about the safety of those I love, some encouragement from God Himself: Ecclesiastes 8:8a “No man has power over the wind to contain it, so no one has power over the day of his death,” and Psalm 139: 16:b “All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.”  And the clincher: Matthew 6:27 “Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?”

Pray.  Breathe.  Thank God for HIS sovereign care over us all.  He gave you that breath you just took.  He could have stopped your heart or lungs, but He didn’t!  Thank God for HIS goodness.  It’s the best medicine for the worrying heart.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Amen!!! After David and I were engaged I realized that his death would have a tremendous impact on my life (understatement!) and I would sometimes let my thoughts dwell on everything that could happen if/when he died. But then the Lord helped me see that nothing profitable came from worrying about his eventual death and instead of wasting my thoughts on that I should be using them in thanksgiving for every moment I have had and am having with him! Thanks for the reminder that God knows the number of our days! What peace there is in knowing that He is the Sovereign God!
Psalm 90:12 “So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom.”

Comment by ( : AhlgrenFamily : )




Leave a Reply

