The Caskey Family


Help PLEASE! Book List/Suggestions
August 30, 2010, 12:47 pm
Filed under: Adina, Info/Resources | Tags: , ,

After I finished my undergraduate degree, I was sick of reading.  I’d read and read since I was a young girl, and I was simply tired of reading everything everyone else told me to read.  So I took a break, until grad school of course, then it was even more intense reading: scientific research, research and MORE research!   So, yep, you guessed it, another vacation from reading, with the exception of a few book skimmings and the Bible of course.

This year since we moved to Louisville, I have read a few REALLY good books, and I’ve gained my reading appetite back!   I now have children who are old enough to have a good quiet time and a solid nap, so I am actually getting time to read during some of my prime awake time during the day!

I have read more books this year than I’ve read in the last 5 years combined. . .and I have some ambitious goals for the remaining part of the year.  Here’s my list of MUST-reads for the remaining part of the year:

1. Sacred Marriage by Gary Thomas (DONE! 9/10/2010)

2. The Faithful Parent by Martha Peace and Stuart Scott (Reading with Jeremy)

3. Marks of the Messenger by J. Mack Stiles

4. Teach Them Diligently by Lou Priolo

5. Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life by Donald Whitney (Reading for Seminary Wives’ Institute) DONE 11/16/2010

6. Crazy Love by Francis Chan (Listening on CD with Jeremy in the car) DONE 10/2010

7. Everyday Talk by John Younts (Reading with a friend and discussing weekly) DONE 11/19/2010

8. The Bible

What would you add to this list?  What book is YOUR FAVORITE MUST-read that I’ve missed out on??  My list is void of any fun fiction book, or biography, so please comment with those suggestions too please!

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Forgotten God- Francis Chan
The Me I want to be- John Ortberg
Emotionally Healthy Spirituality- Peter Scazzero

Comment by Lylli

“Heaven” by Randy Alcorn

Comment by Rachel

Love and Respect I am reading it now and have gotten lots out of it. Its something fun to read together also.

Comment by Roseann

Roseann, a few of my friends are reading that for a class here on campus. I’ve heard it is good. Rachel, you aren’t the first to recommend that book to me. Lylli, I think I will have to check those out!

Fun book suggestions anyone??

Comment by icaskey

Depends on your idea of fun books Come to the Wallis library and I can probably tempt your fun book palate: historical fiction, biographies, comedy, current fiction (or maybe semi-current) and some classics. Oh, and we have fantasy/sci fi (courtesy of our sons).

Comment by cwallis

Knowing God by J.I. Packer (a must-read for all Christians)

I’m reading Radical by David Platt right now, and it reminds me of you and Jeremy. Worth reading, for sure.

Comment by Whitney Walker Alexander

For a fun book I’d recommend “To Have and To Hold” by Mary Johnson. I read it a couple months ago and it was the first fictional book I remember reading in the past 10 years, probably more. I prefer a biography or something factual. I’ve had the book for several years but was waiting to read it until David and I were married. I was only going to start the book without him, but then I couldn’t put it down, so I will re-read it with him… someday! A wonderful non-fiction book is “Home-Making” or “The Family” by J.R. Miller. Excellent book on home life! A good biographical book is “Marriage to a Difficult Man: The Uncommon Union of Jonathan and Sarah Edwards”. Lots of things remind me of David, he’s such an incredible man! ❤ A two book series of short biographies that are very inspiring is "Memorable Women of the Puritan Times". I've only gotten through the first volume, but it was very good!
I'll have to look into some of your book recommendations! They sound interesting! I was trying to remember… did you give me "The Excellent Wife" by Martha Peace?
Hope you have a lovely day! Love you!

Comment by ( : David'sKate : )

Yes, I did give you that, but though her insights are very good on many things, there are some things she has to say that are taking scripture out of context and not considering the whole of scripture as she presents ideas.

Good, but I don’t feel she is biblical with everything. . .she’s human!

Comment by icaskey

“The Gospel and the Kingdom” by George Eldon Ladd
“Keeping the Heart” by John Flavel
“The Truth of the Cross” by R.C. Sproul

Comment by Jeremy




Leave a Reply

