The Caskey Family


The Art of Service
June 30, 2010, 1:13 am
Filed under: family news | Tags: ,

Last night I was challenged in the art of foot-washing.  Not literal foot-washing, but serving as Jesus teaches us to serve each other, in humility.  Someone who loves our family came over and washed my dishes and folded my laundry with me.  She would have scrubbed my toilets if I’d let her.  She wanted to minister to our family and this was her idea of loving us.  According to John 13, it was Jesus’ way too.

As I meditated on John 13 this morning, I found it striking that Jesus loved and served his betrayer and his closest disciple (Jn. 13:23) in the same manner.  He showed no partiality.  He washed even Judas’ feet, KNOWING that he would leave the room and betray Jesus to His enemy.  In essence, Jesus washed His enemy’s feet then said to all his followers (and one enemy): “If I then, the Lord and the Teacher, washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another’s feet.  For I gave you an example that you also should do as I did to you.  Truly, truly, I say to you, a slave is not greater than his master, nor is one who is sent greater than the one who sent him.  If you know these things, you are blessed if you do them.”  John 13:14-17

This is a reminder to me that if I love Jesus, I will serve my best friend and my worst enemy with the same heart of love (and perhaps even some of the same actions as Jesus did in John 13).  So tonight I ask God to stir my heart to obey Him in loving and serving my enemy and friend alike.  This is what Jesus came to do, while He walked on earth, and now (through the working of the Holy Spirit) in us who have repented of their sins and trusted in Christ’s blood to pay for their sins and do HIS work to make us more like Jesus.

Here’s a special “thank you” to all the “footwashers” who have ministered to our family during the past few days; and to one in particular, thank you for challenging me to be more obedient to Jesus and serve no matter how strange or uncomfortable it is.  You are a beautiful reflection of Christ to me!

“By this all men will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.” John 13:35

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

