The Caskey Family


Freedom Cost Us Today
June 27, 2010, 11:43 am
Filed under: family news | Tags: , ,

Yesterday Jeremy’s brother, Joe Caskey, died valiantly on the battlefield while serving his country in Afghanistan. He is a US Marine and was serving his second tour in this current conflict.

As the grief washes over us, I am reminded very personally that freedom is not free.  Joe volunteered for the most dangerous part of the war zone, and paid for our freedom with his own life.  I was struck last night as I laid in bed and prayed for sleep to come (not to just me, but other people who are grieving) that John wrote about men like Joe in John 15:12-13: “This is My commandment, that you love one another, just as I have loved you.  Greater love has no one than this, that one lay down his life for his friends.”

And so I am grateful.  Grateful to Joe who was brave and bold, and who didn’t think twice about laying down his life and grateful for the other Marines who were with him, some of whom died also, and some of whom live to go on defending my freedom.  Today they woke up to go out and defend our freedom in the face of their very own grief with the memory of the torturous event that cost them their leader fresh in their minds.  Oh God, please be merciful to them!

My heart is also grateful to his mother who birthed him, raised him, and supported him heartily as he left to serve his country.  I am grateful to his father who modeled patriotism and service to country with his own career and life.  And with tears I am grateful for his brothers who have also served their country but been graciously allowed to return home.  Jeremy’s next younger brother survived a suicide bomb but carries around with him the effects of that event.  I live comfortably, safely and in freedom because of your service.

Today I am humbled by God’s goodness to me and my children in giving us brave and heroic men like Joe Caskey. May the God who, in His goodness, gave us Joe, also grant peace and comfort unexplainable to those love Joe and who now mourn the loss of this valiant man.

Joe is from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and will be buried here in on American soil in the upcoming days with full military honors.

37 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Beautifully said. And a very poignant reminder of the cost of freedom, and a personal reminder of how it deeply affects the families left behind. He will always be remembered as a hero.

Comment by Deb Parsons

I am without words… Continuing to pray for you and your family and will also remember to pray for his unit. Thankful for the intercession of His Spirit when our own words fail.

Comment by Angie Gottsch

I am thankful for the sacrifice your family has made for our country. You are in my thoughts and prayers as you endure the difficult loss of Joe.

Comment by David Crawford

We are so very sorry for your loss. We will be praying for all of you.

Comment by richardson family

I’m very sorry for the loss of you loved one. I will be praying for your family and for the sacrifice they have made for our freedom.

Comment by Andrew Raymond

Praying for you during this time of great loss! Thankful for the freedom our servicemen fight for. Let me know if you guys need anything!

Comment by blythe

Our prayers are with you through this difficult time. A great sacrifice has been laid at the alter of freedom that can not be unnoticed. Thank you for your sacrifice. Let us know if you need anything.

Comment by Justin and Leah Richardson

I can’t imagine what your family is going through. It’s just awesome that God has given you the presence of mind to write this.

Comment by Paul Mason

dear family,
we are so sorry for the loss of Joe, yet all through history God has used men like Joe to bring freedoms to our country, so his life even though incredibility missed, we will continue to benefit from him serving our country. May the God of all comfort touch the very depths of the grieving and especially his mother that bore him, as there is no grief like a mother feels of her son, no matter if he’s 3 or in his twenties. We love you all!!!

Cindy

Comment by cindy morris

Thank you Cindy, that means a lot coming from you. May God continue to minister comfort to your family as well.

Comment by icaskey

Dear Jeremy & Adina,
I’m so sorry for your loss and am praying for you and your family. Words cannot express but God’s Spirit can provide a peace that only HE can provide. Praise God this isn’t the end!

Comment by Kelly Dorney

So sorry to hear of your loss. We are praying for you and the whole family.

Comment by Joe and Terri Estes

Dear Jeremy & Adina,
We are so saddened to hear about your loss. Joe will always be remembered by us as a brave soldier and an honored hero. We are praying for your family and for Debbie and Jerry that our gracious Father uphold you all and comfort you through this sad time as only He can. We love you.

Comment by Rebecca & Mark

Brother and Sis, we are praying for you and your family.
Deuteronomy 20:1 When you go to war against your enemies and see horses and chariots and an army greater than yours, do not be afraid of them, because the LORD your God, who brought you up out of Egypt, will be with you.
Love you both so much xox

Comment by Shenae and Chloe

Thank you Adina. That was just beautiful. Joe knew the Lord and the power of His resurrection. He is with His Lord now.

Comment by DEBBIE CASKEY

May the Lord bless you and keep you during this difficult time. I salute all who like Joe have given everything so we can be free. I hurt for your family. Know that your friends and church family at Keystone New Life Alliance Church in Cornell, Wisconsin will be praying for you.
We love you all. Risa’s pastor.
Jim Brandli

Comment by Jim Brandli

There is a Land of pure delight; Where saints and immortal reign; Infintie day excludes the night; and pleasure banish pain.
-Isaac Watts

We are praying for your family. May God’s strength and comfort surround you.

Comment by Candice Trent

To the Caskey Family,
My the Lord be with you to guide you through your grief. I pray for Joe, for his family and friends, and for all servicemen as they do their duties protecting their country and their families. I have a son in the army who is serving in Afghanistan and I am so proud of him. I also know the daily fears that I have for his safety. The good Lord will get us all through this with His great love. May you find strength and peace in God. Amen

Comment by Darla Losteter

Ms. Losteter, thank you for the sweet words, and thank you for your sacrifice as a mother of a soldier overseas! Our prayers are with you for your son and his safety. My heart is drawn to pray even more fervently for peace!

Comment by icaskey

My heartfelt prayers and sympathies to your family. I work at Blessed Sacrament Catholic Church in Harrisonburg, VA. A young woman approached me outside of church Saturday night (10:30pm). Through tears she stated that she had just gotten word that her best friend had lost his life in battle in Afghanistan (my apologies for not knowing her name) and asked if she could go into the church to pray (which was locked). I was overseeing 2 youth groups from Boston & CT that were spending the night at our church. I opened up the church for she and her friend to go and pray for the Caskey family. I want you to know that Joe was remembered at all of our Masses this past weekend.

May God give you and your family comfort during this difficult time.

Comment by Jean DePiro

May God bless YOU and all of your family ..My son n law SGT. Henry Diaz was proud to know Joe I never meet him my self however my daughter Sammie talked well of him. from my family to yours our prayers and thoughts our with all of you. God Bless America

Comment by AdriannaValadez

Dear Pastor and Debbie, We are so sorry to about your son,Joe. We will keep you in our thoughts and prayers. Reid and Trudy Bauder, Steve and Cathy Davis

Comment by steve davis

To all the Caskey family,I am so deeply saddened by the loss of Joe,my daughter(Morgan) and son in law(Tyler Gaskill) lived with Joe in California and Joe was in their wedding I feel like he was part of our family.Joe was not only a great and true Marine but a true and loyal friend.Our prayers are with you in the days ahead. Tina Walker

Comment by tina walker

Dear pastor and family, from a former Marine to your entire family, may God bless you and give you strength. It says in the Marines Hymn “the streets of heaven are guarded by U.S. Marines”, as Marines we dont plan on this assingment, but we accept it with pride, honor, and courage. I can think of no other place with the honor your son has earned, than hand in hand with God. SEMPER FI!!GOD BLESS

Comment by steve davis

We as a country are lucky to have men and women like Joe protecting us and giving us our freedoms. I am very grateful to have known Joe, and to have his story inspire me to live more compassionately and to be grateful for everything I have in this life. May god help Joe’s family and friends get through this very difficult time. “Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.” Matthew 5:4

Comment by LB

We are praying for you all. May God’s comforting arms surround you all as you go through this time of sorrow.

Comment by Bill and Joyce Schwer

We are very sadend to hear of your loss.And send our deepest sympothy.Caskey family & Aunt Dorthy ,our hearts go out to you all.May God comfort You an strenghten you though this. Love Michael,Jennifer,Christina,Michael & Myra Morrow ((John 16:33 These things I have spoken unto youthat in me ye might have peace.In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.))

Comment by Michael & Jennifer Morrow

Dear Caskey Family,

I attend Omaha Bible Church and heard of your loss and wanted to let you know how very sorry I am. Know that you will be in my thoughts and prayers. In this time of loss may your hearts be evermore directed to our dear Savior who understands your pain and suffering more than anyone else ever can. How incredible that He endured not only the physical pain and agony of the cross but also even harder, the severing of the deepest, most intimate relationship He had so that we could be brought into a relationship with Him that will never be broken. May He comfort and strengthen your hearts and may you know of His love in way you haven’t experienced before.
Psalm 31:7
I will rejoice and be glad in your steadfast love,because you have seen my affliction;you have known the distress of my soul,

Love in Christ,
Kristin

Comment by Kristin Pille

To the Caskey Family:
My thoughts and prayers are with you. Joe was a true American hero. My brother-in-law SFC Robert Fike was also tragically taken in this war 2 weeks ago along with SSG Bryan Hoover. These men paid the ultimate sacrifice for our freedom and will never be forgotten.

Comment by Nicole Fike

Nicole, our heart is sad for your family’s loss, and the Hoover family also. How are you all doing now? I don’t know what life will look like for our family in two weeks. It is so hard to fathom our lives without Joe. Tonight I ask God to comfort your families as only HE can! Blessings.

Comment by icaskey

I do not know you or your family, but I am deeply humbled by and grateful for your brothers’ sacrifice. My heartfelt sympathies to you all – you are all in my prayers.
Brenda, Van Wert, Ohio.

Comment by brenda smith

I am proud to say I am a friend of Joe. He gave me so many laughs and memories through out the years. My thoughts and prayers are with him and your family. Thank you Joe for Honoring your Country. I will never for get you.
Jesse

Comment by Jesse Schultz

I wish I could say something encouraging, but I am at a lack of words. My prayers are with you all and I am so grateful to all that serve our country to provide freedom for me and my family.
lots of love, Heather

Comment by Heather Plis

Adina–God gave you His wisdom in writing this tribute to Joe and all that have equipped him to accomplish the task set before Joe. We love your family and will continue to pray for true freedom for our country, Afghanistan, and other people’s of the world.

Comment by Carolyn

My thoughts and prayers are with your family. SGT Joseph Caskey is gone but not forgotten. He has paid the ultimate price for our freedom. Freedom does not come free. He is a true American Hero. God bless your family in this time of great sorrow.

Comment by Tigger

I wish that there was something that could be done to help with the pain that you are feeling. I know that they are no words that can be said to take away this pain. I just want you to know that our family is greatful for your sons service to our country. Our heart goes out to you during this difficult time. May God give you peace and show you comfort during this very hard time.

Comment by Stone Family

My thoughts are with you all, more than you can imagine.

Comment by Mike Kaplan




Leave a Reply

