The Caskey Family


It’s Spring! Gardening in Louisville
April 28, 2010, 1:02 am
Filed under: Adina, family news

We have been blessed with a community garden plot a few blocks away.  I thought it would be fun for the children to dig around and play outdoors. . .I THOUGHT!!  Digging is fun until mommy plants things, then where they were allowed to dig before is suddenly sacred ground!  Also as more people begin their gardens, there are more things for them to trample.

So, needless to say, we all go to the garden together, but only to do little things here or there, or just to water.  Today I got a good hour in the garden by myself (I love you Jeremy, thanks!!!) and finished most of my plantings.  I didn’t get a photo, but I will soon, as I do want to keep a photo journal of the progress.

First I started with some FREE compost off craig’s list.  Yay for living around TONS of horse farms!  Then I tossed in some coffee grounds, a HUGE bag of them FREE from Starbuck’s. . .for those of you who need one more reason to love this place, here it is!  The children helped me dig for worms (there were lots to start with) and turn the soil, pull the weeds, and plant things.

Today when I went to plant some of the last few seedlings, I found at least TWICE the earthworms in each shovel I turned over.  Gotta’ love that compost!

So here’s an inventory from our 7X14-foot garden:

  • three rows of bush green beans (planted in succession so we should get a steady harvest in the summer)
  • 4 kinds of tomatoes, including lots of romas for italian food
  • red bell peppers
  • broccoli (we won’t get much in the spring, but more in the fall)
  • zucchini
  • zinnias (flowers)
  • onions

Here is a picture of my pot herb garden with some kale I HAD to try to grow for zuppa tuscana (Olive Garden soup)

The herb garden contains in three pots:

summer lettuce
spinach
sweet basil
cilantro
thyme
oregano
dill
rosemary
and more zinnias

    1 Comment so far
    Leave a comment

    I’ve GOT to learn how to garden!

    Comment by Whitney Walker Alexander




    Leave a Reply

