The Caskey Family


Jeremy attempts Solomon’s wisdom with mixed results
June 15, 2009, 1:05 am
Filed under: Elijah, Funny, Jeremy, Merry | Tags: , ,

Jeremy writes,
Today was a good Lord’s Day. We were blessed to try Clifton Baptist Church and are debating as to where to go next week – probably Immanuel. After lunch, and after Mom and little Micah went down for naps, I had the privilege to sit in the kids room and play and take a pseudo nap myself, amidst being pounced on and “snuggled” – which sometimes turns violent (an elbow here or there). While I was lying there Elijah and Merry started quarreling over Merry’s baby doll, both determined to have it. I aroused from my “sleep” and asked the two of them to come here and to “bring the baby.”

I thought this might be a perfect time for a lesson in sharing and what better story to tell than Solomon and the two women arguing over the baby. First, in my “wisdom” I tried playing Solomon myself and asked them both if they’d like me to cut it in half so they could both have a piece of it. Elijah immediately and morbidly acquiesced, while Merry seemed hesitant, wanting it all for herself. Elijah pipes in again, “Yeah cut it,” wearing a huge grin, “let me get your knife” as he proceeds to reach into my pocket. I was somewhat horrified and asked Merry again what she wanted me to do and following Elijah’s depraved lead, she agreed that cutting it seemed best. It was at this point that I had no other choice but to … (if you think I cut it, you guessed wrong) tell them the whole story of Solomon and the two women and who the baby was actually given to – the real mother who loved her child enough to give it away.

They enjoyed the story and decided to share. Hopefully they learned something, but perhaps I may have learned more. Given the most depraved option, my kids will probably go that direction. Perhaps I shouldn’t tempt that.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Good story, wish i could of been there.

Comment by jose

Good story. I guess they just saw it as a toy.

I wonder what going to Sojourn church would be like. I have an music album by them and they seem “artsy”:
http://www.sojournchurch.com/

Comment by Joseph

i loved that elijah wanted to get the knife! I am so glad that you thought about telling them the whole story. You are so good at sharing the Word of God with your children, so i can only imagine how good you will be with sharing with adults.

Comment by jsmith18

Children floor me. I’m thrilled that you two take the time to blog about your family’s adventures, especially concerning your efforts at teaching the young’uns about God, and all their many little milestones. I’ve just finally caught up on my Caskey treasures, and think I will spend the rest of the day thinking about this one, and about the non-stop talking princess incident. (Uh-oh… I already see the writing on the walls of my future!)

I love you all and want you to know I think of you MUCH more often than I ever seem to get around to writing. Hugs, Tiara

Comment by Tiara

That was a great opportunity to teach them a biblical lesson and you did a good job. You are right Jeremy, in your last statement about kids, they will usually take the most depraved option because we don’t have to teach them to sin…they seem to learn that all on their own. Thanks for sharing the story with us.

Comment by Lew Gervais




Leave a Reply

