The Caskey Family


Husband’s Return and Hoping For Heaven
October 20, 2008, 12:45 am
Filed under: Deployment, family news, Jeremy

2 Peter 3:10-13 says:

“But the day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night, in which the heavens will pass away with a great noise, and the elements will melt with fervent heat; both the earth and the works that are in it will be burned up.  Therefore, since all these things will be dissolved, what manner [of persons] ought you to be in holy conduct and godliness, looking for and hastening the coming of the day of God, because of which the heavens will be dissolved, being on fire, and the elements will melt with fervent heat?  Nevertheless we, according to His promise, look for new heavens and a new earth in which righteousness dwells.”

It is with great anticipation that I wait for my husband to return, and long for it.  As I process everything that has happened and is happening as this deployment comes to an end, I am convicted about my longing for my Savior’s return. . .do I plan for it, ache for it, clean house (spiritually) for it. . .am I willing to spend (or part with) money in preparation for it, talk about it as the first thing off my tongue to people who ask me how I’m doing?  Do I lay awake at night wondering what it will be like to see Him face to face?  Do my children sense that the day of my Bridegroom’s return is something that is thrilling to me, that I can hardly wait to experience?  Do they know that life will never be the same when He comes back, because I have told them of the things we will do with Him when he returns?

Just for comparison, here’s a picture taken of us about 8 months ago before Jeremy left for training and Iraq.  Lord-willing, soon we will new family picture to post here!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I can’t wait to see the family reunion- and family expansion pictures! I am so excited for all of you- to have the sweet homecoming and new addition to your beautiful family!

Comment by Deb

Oh my, Adina! This is the very same thing God has been putting on my heart so strong the past week or so, and 2 other friends recently shared similar things. The Spirit and the Bride say “Come.” Let him who hears say, “Come”. I am so blessed to hear that you are also longing for our Savior (not surprised, mind you, only blessed). Praying for you and Jeremy as you await his return!

Comment by Cassie

[…] Post about Jesus Coming Jump to Comments My friend Adina shared this beautiful post today and I wanted to pass it along to […]

Pingback by Friend’s Post about Jesus Coming « Sweet Like Honey

beautiful post…thanks for the title change 😉

Comment by Heather

Adina, I cried watching the short video of your reunion at the airport. I’m thrilled Jeremy is back with you, and that he arrived before Micah did. But then, well… what a lump in my throat, as I read this post.

Waiting for your earthly husband is such a *real* and very tangible thing, while waiting for Jesus’ return sometimes is not (or at least, sometimes is not to me). While I’ve never had a husband deployed in Iraq, it feels “close to home,” as the 2nd coming of our Savior surely should–thank you for giving me something on which to think.

Comment by Tiara




Leave a Reply

