The Caskey Family


Like Grandma Like Granddaughter

Yesterday would have been my mother’s (Linda Ruth Ahlgren) 52nd birthday, and I made phone calls to my siblings to talk with each of them. We try to make contact on this day usually, as it is very special to celebrate her birth and life. We considered naming Merry after my mother (in some form) but decided against it (because she would have strongly disapproved of it) and chose to honor her in another way by giving her granddaughter an attribute name from one of her most quoted Bible verses Proverbs 17:22, which states that, “A merry heart does good like a medicine. . .” It was also fitting that Merry was born on Christmas.

A few days ago, I snapped this picture of Merry and Elijah eating popcorn; I did a double take with Merry when I saw her sitting there – my mom used to sit in that exact same posture with a big bowl of popcorn sharing it with us on weekend evenings while we played games or read. And Merry’s wide bright smile reminded me of the “merry” times I remember with my family, there is no doubt in my mind that she has been blessed with a small piece of the sweet and merry spirit God gave to my mom.

This week was also very special as Jeremy and I have decided to have the birth of our son at the brand new Charleston Birth Place, a freestanding birth center for low-risk pregnancies and births.  I have been receiving care from a midwife at the Navy clinic and they cleared me after I finished my last set of tests (the fun glucose test) to go ahead and have my birth at the center.

I went on the orientation and tour and it is AMAZING! It will be like having a baby at a bed and breakfast with 4-person jet tub to relax in! I am so excited, it is only a block away from the hospital (you can actually see the hospital from it) and they have all the same newborn safety equipment that the hospital has, so there is no risk, and so many great benefits to getting to have our baby there. I mention this in this blog post, because my mother is probably the one person who has helped me brave enough to try natural childbirth with my first two and stick it out, as she allowed me to witness the births of two of my sisters (one at home and one in a hospital.)’

Also, on my mom’s birthday, Jeremy and I were given a small glimmer of hope in the form of a general potential date regarding his return. . .there is now some possible light at the end of this tunnel!! Praise GOD!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So good to continue to read your comments and hear how you are doing. Rejoicing with you that the end of this deployment is in sight. Praying for you as we start the study of Jonah together this week.
Love to you

Comment by Kelly Lyle

The time grows ever closer for my return. It looks as if I will be home for Adina’s birthday and Reformation Sunday. Hurrah!

Comment by Jeremy

Jeremy, Rich is so excited I forgot (forgive me I don’t know how) that you’ll prayerfully be here to celebrate with Rich on Reformation Sunday. You will need your luther steins and Spurgeon cigars!J/K I will remind him of that day though! He is so excited to see you and wishes he had more time to write.

Comment by Stephanie

So exciting….its getting close and that is so wonderful that Jeremy, Lord willing will be here!! We will miss David as he comes, but he is excited it seems and ready to serve as always!!! I wish I could fix his situation, he a spectacular, godly young man!!! Blessings to you as you prepare for the baby. Any manes yet or do we have to wait??
Cindy
http://www.weloveyoujoel.blogspot.com

Comment by Cindy Morris

I am so excited for you! I wanted so badly to try a water birth with Jeffrey… is that part of your plans? I am glad you get to use a birthing center; it seems like it would be amazing! Lucky you!

Comment by nerwinski

What a beautiful post. Thank you for sharing your heart! And hooray that there is “light at the end of the tunnel” Praise God for He is GOOD!!!

Comment by Heather




Leave a Reply

