The Caskey Family


A Local Meal
September 7, 2008, 8:45 pm
Filed under: Deployment, Jeremy, Pictures


Jeremy writes,

I had a fun mission today where we met with some local sheiks (tribal leaders) and had a meeting and a meal. They slaughtered the fatted calf for us – actually two sheep, in which I helped skin. When I say that I helped skin the sheep, like a politician, I did a little mainly for the photo op. The meal was delicious. Besides lamb, we also had some cooked vegetables (onions, tomatoes, and peppers) stuffed with rice and dates, fresh fruits and vegetables, rice, potatoes, Iraqi soda, and some terrific flat bread. We also got to play some soccer with the kids who also enjoyed seeing photos of my children on my iPod, as well as listening to some music: Beethoven’s 9th Symphony, Bach’s Jesu Joy of Man’s Desiring (my subtle attempt at witnessing), Frank Sinatra, and even some Christmas music. Several of them were huddled around me, each fighting for a turn at one of two headphones.  I gave out honey sticks to the children and they gobbled them up and asked for more .  I told them I had to save them for other children we’d be seeing.  One of them can be seen wearing my helmet in the photo above. It was a great day, embracing the Iraqi culture. I even did the back and forth cheek kiss with the sheiks! Salaamu aleykum (Peace be upon you).

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow, you wild man you!!!!!! You’ll never eat MRE’s again! Only Iraqi food for you! You look hot, or were you sweating from spices and such?!

Comment by MAK

I see Jeremy’s photos and it reminds me of a man I met here at the AF Academy a man by the name of Mr Greg Mortenson, who’s website is: http://www.gregmortenson.com/welcome.php
I recommend you find his book, “Three Cups of Tea”, it’s a wonderful read. Greg’s work reminds me of what Jeremy did on this trip! I had sent Greg many photos of his speech here, but he has not used them on his website.

Comment by MIKE

Seriously, Jeremy you are 2 lbs now I can’t wait to feed you! Well, after your wife gets a hold of you with her amazing cooking skills.

Comment by Stephanie

Mike, I checked out that site, and it is pretty cool. . .maybe I’ll be going to the Middle East next!!

I agree with you, Jeremy does look pretty warm in these pictures. . .I believe it has been around 120 degrees or so there lately.

Comment by Adina

Great Photos, reminds me of you in Guam trying all kinds of new things. New food, New things to see, new things to try….. Hiking, trails!!!!! We are looking forward to seeing you when you arrive back!!!!!

Comment by .....David Ahlgren.....




Leave a Reply

