The Caskey Family


Jeremy’s mission to Afghanistan
August 5, 2008, 3:17 pm
Filed under: Deployment, Jeremy

 

Jeremy writes,

For those of you who don’t know, I went on a mission to Afghanistan to conduct a detainee release.  The trip was a success and the detainee will be released after several years in U.S. custody.  Afghanistan was comparatively cool, 80 degrees instead of 120 (here in Iraq).  The photo above is of me and the security team, medic, and interpreter who composed the detail to Afghanistan.  If you notice I am wearing an Army uniform, something we Air Force combat cameraman do on missions.  

 

On the way home I spent a couple of days in the country of Qatar, weapon free, enjoying the amenities that are more prevalent at an Air Force deployed location such as pool, movie theater, various fast food establishments, library, and the like.  I know all of those things sound fairly normal to most Americans, but they are to be appreciated when you do without them.  Several Air Force personnel in Qatar kept coming up to me with a baffled look on their face as to why I was wearing an Army uniform with Air Force rank and markings on it – something generally you only see from Air Force Special Forces that go out with the Army.  I’ve never been a ‘cool’ guy, but that was about as close as I got.  One guy actually asked me if I was Special Forces.  When I said, “No, I’m Combat Camera”, he said, “Oh … well, that’s just as cool”.  

 

 

I also got to pass over United Arab Emirates and see the city of Dubai, from the air, and the island resort atolls off of its coast.  Even though I am stationed at a C-17 base at home, I finally got to ride one on the way back from Afghanistan.  It was a good trip.  I have a few days of down time before I head to my next location here in country.

 

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow! What a cool picture! I guess it can’t be helped with such a “cool” guy in it! Love that you got a little break. . . you owe me one when you return. . .I’ve not had a real one (a few days, please?!?!) for months! Just getting to be with you, though, and having all FIVE of us together will be all the vacation I need to make up for the time we’ve missed! Can’t wait for you to come home Babe!

Comment by Adina

We are glad you are safe. Some guys from our church have stopped over in Qatar, so we’ve heard about that. Every day brings you closer to home. We’re praying for you guys.

Comment by Joy

Jeremy I am glad that your mission went well. I am also very glad that you go to enjoy not only some “cool” guy time, but also some relaxing time. i know that without it your job can be even more stressful! Thanks for all your hard work! ~Jennifer~

Comment by Jennifer

Glad all went well. Take as many pictures and keep as many momentos as you can. They will be even cooler when you are old and retired! And they make great pictures at your retirement ceremony!!

Comment by Kelly Lyle

VERY cool!

Comment by MK

Jeremy,
You always were a cool guy to me! That is so neat that you get to wear an updated version of your Dad’s uniform. We’re proud of you man!
Love, Mom and Dad

Comment by Debbie Caskey




Leave a Reply

