The Caskey Family


It’s a. . . We’ll Know Tomorrow, Perhaps!
July 14, 2008, 1:56 am
Filed under: Deployment, Elijah, Merry, Pregnancy | Tags: ,

Tomorrow I have my ultrasound that may show us (with cooperation from the baby) if Elijah and Merry will get a sister or brother. So so so exciting! We are already blessed with two children with very sweet spirits, I can’t imagine the blessing (and responsibility) number three will be. Today, Elijah said “I love my Merry, Momma,” when we were driving in the car. He also added that he wanted Daddy to come home soon, then proceeded to explain to Merry that Daddy would come home from Iraq to see them. Merry says “oh,” and repeats a word or two of what Elijah just said to her when he has a serious conversation with her. She seems to be listening and understanding him, and somehow communicates to him that she understands him. He will actually ask her questions and respond to her jabbering as if she had given him a coherent answer. Those two make my heart melt!

We talked about obeying in the church nursery tonight, and when I asked Elijah if he would need God’s help, he said, “yes,” so we had a prayer. It was very precious to hear him ask God to help him obey “so I don’t get ‘pankings” he said,” then instructed Merry that it was her turn to pray. She “prayed” and included “obey” in there somewhere, then Elijah went on to make sure I prayed too. It is very sweet to have these interactions with them, but I have to keep praying for their hearts, because I know that at this point they are mostly copying and their motivation is mainly less discipline which they have now connected to a lack of obedience. Good start, I feel, but far from where I hope the grace of God will eventually lead them.

Last night around 1AM, Merry woke up vomiting, and continued to have little bouts until almost 3AM. She is better today it seems. But she was so cute, she figured out how to neatly stand at the toilet and get it into the “water.” She did not like the feeling of it, obviously, and tried to avoid throwing up. It was so cute (as is Merry’s nature) she kept saying when she would actually throw up, “oh no, oh no!” and “in water,” in a very concerned voice. I never thought I would say something like this, but motherhood drives you to some strange things. It was so cute to hear her say “oh no, oh no!” that I almost got the video camera out. I guess if there was one person who could make throwing up cute, it’s Merry!

So excited for the ultrasound tomorrow! I will post as soon as I can sometime in the afternoon, Lord willing.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Oh I can’t wait to find out WHO is coming!!! I am so excited! I’ll be praying that Jeremy will get to be on the phone with you the moment you find out!!! This is truly so exciting! (:

Comment by Mary




Leave a Reply

