The Caskey Family


Loving Summer
June 9, 2008, 1:55 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Summer is such a beautiful time as things warm up, gardens grow, family comes to visit and there is time for lots of reading.  This first picture is of my mostly perennial garden that my sisters planted for me in the fall.  It bloomed nicely and with some gladiolas from the back yard, I have a beautiful collection of creation and outdoor beauty right on my dining room table.

One day as I was chatting with Jeremy online, Elijah decided to entertain Merry by reading to her.  Right next to me as I work on the computer are two little chairs and basket of books for them to read.  Elijah sat Merry down, gave her a pacifier to keep her quiet (I don’t know where in the world he learned this technique!) and stacked the entire contents of the book basket next to her on the chair.

Then he proceeded to read her one of the books from her stack: 1 is One by Tasha Tudor, one of our very favorites!  Tasha Tudor was also one of Grandma Linda’s (my mom’s) favorite children’s authors and artists.

I was very impressed by Elijah’s initiative in entertaining Merry and equally impressed by her willingness to comply with what he wanted to do with her – and her attention span.  Moments like these make me know why I LOVE being a mom that gets to stay at home with her children!

My sister Beth is here to visit for a few days, later in the week we will be graced by visits from Aunt Risa, Aunt Roseann and Uncle Josh with Lumina.   I praise the Lord for sisters and sweet family that are keeping us company while Jeremy is away.

Both Elijah and Merry’s interactions with each other and the love of my siblings have reminded me of Psalm 133 (the whole Psalm!)  “Behold, how good and how pleasant it is For brothers to dwell together in unity!  It is like the precious oil upon the head, Coming down upon the beard, {Even} Aaron’s beard, Coming down upon the edge of his robes.  It is like the dew of Hermon Coming down upon the mountains of Zion; For there the LORD commanded the blessing–life forever.”

Praise the Lord for siblings!  Indeed it it good and pleasant for them to dwell together in unity!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Awww, what a lovely post! It’s a joy to hear about the blessings that make you love your Divine calling! 😀 It was so fun to watch Elijah and Merry interact together when ya’ll were here! Children ARE a blessing!!!
Sounds like you’re gonna have some fun this week! 😛 Looking forward to seeing pictures of all the adventures!
I’m praying for you all!

Comment by ( : David's Katelyn : )

The flowers are so pretty. Don’t tell me those are all from your garden. Wow, what a precarious sweet stack of books – stacked in love, jenga style! I get to go to Bible Study tonight. Yeah! I’m very thankful to always see pictures of the children enjoying each other’s company. Love you!

Comment by Jeremy




Leave a Reply

