The Caskey Family


Rice Pancakes and Doggie Treats
March 8, 2008, 2:19 am
Filed under: Deployment, Elijah, Friends, Merry

Today we went to the Coronado’s house and toasted brown rice, ground it in their mill (electric) and made my mom’s rice pancakes (this is a picture of the recipe written in my mom’s handwriting – very special!) for lunch. They were as good as I remember them and Josiah (1.5 years old) ate more than 3 pancakes himself! Mimi and Elijah were too tired and excited to eat much (and distracted by the yummy cantalope Stephanie cut up for us).  Before lunch, Richard spent some time on the laptop with Elijah and Josiah looking up pictures of animals on google.  Elijah would name an animal and Richard would look it up and tell him all the food items we get from that animal, or what it tasted like (don’t ask me how Richard knows that a horse tastes like a cow. . . but that’s what he says!)  He also showed him pictures of major great men of the faith and tried to get Elijah to repeat them.

Elijah has had a pretty intense fear of dogs since he was about 9 months old, due to a few rowdy interactions with different ones, and Stephanie and Richard have a little cute hot dog “Cali.” Elijah is also terrified of her, even though she is one of the sweetest dogs I’ve ever met. . . so I decided to do something a little different (we’ve tried pretty much everything to work through this fear.) We stopped at the grocery store on the way to their house and I let him pick out a little bag of treats for Cali. He enjoyed this, but would not give one to her himself. He gave a few to me to give to her and seemed to enjoy watching her eat them . . . from about 6 feet away. We’ll see if we make any progress over time.

Bible study is going very well here; we have been very blessed with God’s provision of His Words in the Bible, and the blessing of the Holy Spirit as our Teacher (I’m so thankful that HE is the Teacher, not me!) As always, God has been speaking to us in very specific and relevant ways during our study, and at only lesson two, I praise God for His great work that has already been done in this short time.

Elijah decided yesterday to read Mimi and Mama a book while he and Merry were in the bathtub. He got out Dr. Seuss’s “One Fish, Two Fish” and began “reading” it from memory. When he got to the second page, he got to the last phrase, pointed to the last picture and said, “what’s that, mama?” and when I answered, he piped up with great enthusiasm, “Da’s right! Good job, mama!” turned the page, and continued reciting. I won’t be needing to homeschool Merry at the rate we’re going around here. . .

Merry climbed up on the loveseat in front of our big picture window (where she likes to watch the squirrels play – her latest word, by the way)  ALL BY HERSELF.  She rode on her little push-rocket up to the couch, then used it as a step to get up on the loveseat.  I was sitting right nearby, and watched as she got up, looked out the window, talked a little bit, then let herself down safely on her tummy, feet-first onto the floor when she was done.  She’s getting so grown-up.  She also goes down slides at the big-kid playground by herself now and knows where she can get a cookie when we walk into the commissary!   Some of the words she says are: mama, dada, bye-bye, hi, Elijah, squirrel, all-done, uh-oh, duck, dog, woof, quack, some sound for a dinosaur (her favorite animal, I think!)

We worked in the yard a little bit this afternoon, clipping a few of my hydrangea shoots and potting some sweet basil seedlings. Also, pulling lots of clover out of my flower bed. It was beautiful here today, I am thankful for the spring-like weather. I pray it lasts for while.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh, I love getting to hear about the daily “adventures” in your life :D!!! Elijah and Merry sound like they have a lot of fun together, and that they provide good entertainment for you! I can’t wait til I can see them in person!!!
Elijah telling you “good job” really got me laughing! 😆 What blessings and joy children bring! ❤
I’m glad to hear the rice pancake recipe turned out well… I’ve been wanting to try it and this has given me the boost of confidence to do it! Knowing it was your Mother’s should have been enough. All of her recipes that I’ve tried have been excellent! 😀
I pray you have a sweetly blessed day! I’m praying for you all, always! 😀

Comment by ( : David's Kate : )

I’m thankful that you are all staying busy and adjusting to me being gone. I love and miss you but it seems to get a little easier over time, though I’d much rather be home with you. God has seen fit for this seperation, and in Him I trust. I love hearing about your daily goings-on.

Comment by Jeremy

Hi Adina, I can so picture Elijah and Merry doing and saying the things you describe. They are so sweet and have a great mum! You and Jeremy are so in my thoughts and prayers these days. We can’t wait to see you in July!
Hugs and kisses to E & M,
Love, R

Comment by Grandma Rebecca




Leave a Reply

