The Caskey Family


Sweet Siblings
January 28, 2008, 1:08 am
Filed under: Elijah, Merry, Pictures

I can’t say how thankful I am for my beautiful children who make me laugh and smile constantly.  This week they seem to have really blossomed into little friends for each other.  Merry is keeping up with Elijah and he is asking her to do things with him.  They’ll be busy playing for sometimes 10 or 15 minutes at a time without any problems – as usual, they are quiet when they are getting into mischief of course!

img_0404.jpg

There is a picture of my brother, Joshua and I when we were about this age – looks just like this!  He’s hugging her around her neck (in the perfect big brother kind of way!)  She is giggling and laughing like crazy.  That has been the sweetest sound I have heard often this past week.  He’s doing something that she thinks is so funny, and of course when she laughs he does it more . . .and more vigorously of course. . . which leads to trouble sometimes – but it’s fun while it lasts.

One of their favorite activities seems to be hide and seek.  Here’s Elijah’s favorite place to hide.  Shhh. . . don’t tell Merry.

img_0368.jpg

img_0372.jpg

She’s a smart little girl – she knows where to find him, and he always says to her, “no ma’am, I’ hiding Mimi” as if the object of hide and seek is for him to hide and her to seek him somewhere else other than where he’s hiding.

img_0382.jpg

Another favorite activity is “going grocery shopping” together.  Here is Mimi with the little basket over her arm – somehow I don’t think she figured this out by herself – I’m sure Elijah gave her what she needed for the trip and got it over her arm like this.  The cute thing is that she seems to thoroughly enjoy this directed play (i.e. bossing) she’s a great obliging second child!  Elijah really takes the grocery shopping thing seriously – he gives me a list of things he is getting at the store then asks me what else I need (it sounds very similar to Jeremy or I leaving for the grocery store talking with each other about what we need).  His favorite lately is pizza – he has great tastes; when he went to the store with Daddy the other day he picked out a spinach and portabello mushroom pizza – YUMMY!  I’ve trained him well 🙂

img_0395.jpg

Here is the cute little guy reading books with the Tynan children.  Notice where he sat when the chairs ran out: right IN the book basket!

img_0421.jpg

Here is Merry in a little dress I made for her.  I couldn’t pass up the polka dot fabric. . . and the cute pompom trim!  She loves anything shaped in a sphere, and when I put it on her the first time, she kept grabbing the little pompoms saying “ohh, aah!”   Jeremy said as I was making the dress that if I put the dress on Merry she would look like a lampshade from the 70’s.  I kind of agree with him now that it is on her, but at least she’s a cute lampshade!

She’s trying to get into my bible study here in this picture.  God has blessed the study a few ladies and I are doing here, so we are going to open the next one up to all the ladies in our church – we will study Book Three of the Psalms starting on February 21.  I am excited and praise God for his obvious provision for me as we prepare to study and teach.  Jeremy will do the lessons a few weeks ahead of us so he can offer me additional insight and support.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow, Elijah and Merry have grown!!! (Especially Merry 🙂
Hope to see you guys soon!
Rachel

Comment by Rachel

Hi Guys,
Sweet pictures! What size summer clothes do you think they’ll be wearing? I saw some cute ones the other day. Can’t wait to see you all. Let us know when you find out about Jeremy’s day of departure.
We love you, Mom & Dad

Comment by Debbie Caskey

We just bought Teaching the Trivium from a friend here who was selling a lot of her homeschool stuff–it was a practically new copy for a great price! Looks great. Thanks for sharing it with us when we were there with you.

Comment by Cassie




Leave a Reply

