The Caskey Family


My Jesus, I Love Thee
January 9, 2008, 3:20 am
Filed under: Elijah, Funny

Jeremy writes,
Lest you think this has become a political blog with all the flashy Huckabee paraphernalia, we quickly return to family matters. Elijah and I usually sing before his bedtime. His favorite, and most requested, is the old hymn “My Jesus, I Love Thee.” He knows it well enough to now sing along with me. It’s cute to hear him and he does pretty well – he actually knows most of the major words.

There’s one line in particular that he hasn’t gotten quite right. The line goes, “for thee all the follies of sin I resign.” He sings, “for thee all the follies of sin I design.” I was struck by this both humorously, but also on a deeper level. It made me think of how our depraved hearts are inclined to sin – inventing new ways of evil (Rom 1:30). He’s such a sweet kid and I am so thankful for his little witness to me and what God teaches me through him.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Good story! Matthew 11:25 “…I praise You, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, that You have hidden these things from the wise and intelligent and have revealed them to infants.”
Psalm 8:2a “From the mouth of infants and nursing babes You have established strength…”
That’s very special that you and Elijah sing together at bedtime!!! 🙂
God bless!

Comment by ( : David's Katelyn : )




Leave a Reply

