The Caskey Family


Auw Nooo Hause (Our New House)
October 1, 2007, 8:28 pm
Filed under: Move to SC

This is what Elijah now calls our home at 1508-B James Avenue, Charleston AFB, SC 29404.  For a while he called hotels and billeting “our new house” so I’m relieved to establish a little more reality in his and Merry’s life with a new home of our own. 

I feel disjointed, out of place, like I don’t fit . . . but I guess that’s how it goes.  Even though it is beautiful here, it still is earth.  I’m trying to just let that feeling sit with me, instead of fighting it – perhaps I should ALWAYS feel a little disjointed here on earth – since I don’t really belong to it.  However, it has hit me harder with this move than any.  Today we finally got a stove, washer and dishwasher that work. . . we’ve been kind of camping out because those items weren’t working. 

God has been so very good to us – when we decided to take on-base housing (the day before our goods arrived) I called my sister Roseann who lives 3 hours away and she drove down that very evening to be here when the movers dropped our stuff off the next morning.  She has a 2-month-old, and her husband is deployed.  PRAISE GOD for SISTERS!!  She has been a lifesaver and a huge help.  Everyone needs a Roseann (to borrow a Dr. Seuss line). 

I will write more when we get internet (tomorrow hopefully) and talk with some of you when we get our phone (which should be on the 3rd or 4th of October)

 1508-B James Avenue

Charleston AFB, SC 29404

(843) 278-2337

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Jeremy and Adina,

Dara and I both tried to contact you today 1 Oct on your old cell phone but just got your voicemail. Dara even tried to call billeting to see if you were still registered. She was told that you weren’t registered. We have both not been feeling well and I have been working long hours at the airport. We didn’t make it to church on Sunday due to illness, but I also got called in to work due to a major safety violation by one of my employees. We felt bad that we haven’t been able to be of assistance in your first week in Charleston, but have thought about you and prayed that all was going well as you made the transition. I called and left a message at the phone number listed in your latest blog entry. Take care.

Comment by Charles Hoke

Mr. Hoke, don’t feel bad – we have been very blessed. . . we so look forward to seeing you all as soon as you get back to your old selves. Roseann leaves tomorrow and we are making good progress with our unpacking. Jeremy goes back to work day after tomorrow. . . things will slow down then and we would so enjoy getting together with you all whenever you can!

Comment by icaskey

wow! that’s great to know you guys got a house!

now we can come out and see you!

Comment by rachel




Leave a Reply

