The Caskey Family


Trip to Pittsburgh
July 31, 2007, 1:42 am
Filed under: family news

Jeremy writes,
Last week my military schoolhouse was shutdown for summer exodus. During that time we had the opportunity to take a trip to Pittsburgh to visit my parents, grandma, and other relatives. Here are some pictures of the trip.

dscf0581.jpg
Elijah, Grandma, and Pap at Gus’ Icee Ball stand (been there since the 30’s). They have the best popcorn, peanuts, and old fashioned hand-shaved icees on the planet. Notice Elijah and Pap both with one hand behind their backs. Apparently I used to do that too. Adina says I still do.

dscn3102.jpg
Elijah “preaching” in Pap’s church. We pray that his fiery, sweet disposition may be channeled into service for our Lord. Pap loved seeing his little Spurgeon in the pulpit.

dscf0562.jpg
The family, with Pittsburgh in the background. We’re riding the incline, a trolley that goes up and down the side of Mount Washington.

dscn3114.jpg
Daddy and Elijah go for a go-cart ride at Great Uncle Joe’s house. Elijah loved the ride. We went up and down Uncle Joe’s dirt road a few times.

dscf0572.jpg
Merry and Elijah enjoy an Ernie puppet at a Pittsburgh toy store. Merry particularly enjoyed Ernie and did her 7 month old best to interact with him. It’s such a joy to watch her grow.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Happy Birthday man! We sure do love you and miss you already! As I tell everybody in church, you sure are a good boy and we are so proud of you! As Grandma says, “you have morals that don’t quit”! This was written with many tears and great affection because I love you a lot. Love, Mom

Comment by Debbie Caskey

Actually Jeremy you’ve done the hands-behind-the-back quite a bit since I’ve known you. The popcorn stand photo with your son is a classic and what a funny caption, perfect.

Comment by Joe Lozada

I bet they don’t eat Misty’s crawfish pie like you do! :>) MIKE

Comment by Mike

Adina, Sorry we missed you in Virginia. We were very busy helping Roger’s parents and it sounds like you were in PA while we were in VA! Can’t wait to see you and your children back in NE.

Comment by Kelly Lyle

Mom, thanks. I love you and am very thankful to be your child.

Joe, I miss ya man! Thanks for posting. It’s been awhile since we’ve spoken. It’s funny you should notice that I too stand with my hands behind my back – I never noticed myself. I’m almost done with Ft. Meade … again.

Mike (still weird not calling you Master Sergeant), no crawfish, but with a city where you can order fries and coleslaw right on your sandwich and not get weird looks, I’m not complaining. I do miss crawfish pies though.

Kelly Lyle, we can’t wait to see you and your family again. Tell Roger and Nathan I got the Nintendo Wii for my birthday.

Comment by icaskey




Leave a Reply

