The Caskey Family


Three Incredible Blessings
June 15, 2007, 10:35 am
Filed under: Jeremy

images1.jpg
Jeremy writes,
It has been an amazing week! By God’s sovereign grace we have accomplished three milestones – some of which were years in the making – others more recent.

1. I made Technical Sergeant this year! After missing the cutoff by one point last year I made it this year. I’m nowhere close to being a rich man (monetarily), but feel like it anyway with the additional money, authority, etc. Exciting!

2. After ten years in the making I finished my Bachelors degree too! I still needed two additional credits to graduate, but asked if my military credits towards my new job I’m taking may apply (Video Broadcasting). I have had my nose so firmly pressed to the grind stone on this I didn’t even think that these new credits may apply. I had planned to take an independent study this summer. Thanks to my 84 year old Grandma who had the sense to ask if this military class I was taking this summer applied towards my degree. I hadn’t thought of that. Thanks Grandma! After ten years I should be a doctor!

3. On a smaller scale, but still a big deal for me, I made it through the first functional area of Video Broadcasting: Basic Writing and Announcing Skills. I did well in writing and wasn’t as concerned with that portion. I was however, concerned with passing Announcing Skills (where you read news copy in a sound booth to an instructor). I knew going in that I needed a lot of work on my speaking skills. I tend to talk fast and low, and mush my words. The class taught me to slow down, articulate, breathe properly, and overemphasize word endings and meaning-laden words. I squeaked by and have significantly improved – according to Adina and my Mom and Grandma, who all have trouble understanding me.

Praise be to God for great things he has done. It is only by His will and mercy that I was able to do any of these things. It feels great to be done with the first two. I feel like Christian in Pilgrims Progress who just had his load taken off his back. I know what I went through was no where as serious as that (Christian’s load was his sin, mine was already taken from Christ), but it’s a fitting picture none the less.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Jeremy – we are so proud of you! It’s been a long time coming and you deserve it! We can’t wait to see you all in one week. I still can’t get over that Grandma Davis thought of that! She’s better than me when it comes to memory!
Luv ya,
Mom and Dad

Comment by Debbie Caskey




Leave a Reply

