The Caskey Family


After-Summer Plans: Charleston AFB
May 29, 2007, 11:58 am
Filed under: family news

Jeremy called me yesterday and told me we have orders for our next assignment. . . Charleston AFB in South Carolina! He will probably deploy often, which is sad for us, but we will only be a little over three hours from four of my siblings and only five hours from Jeremy’s two brothers, sister-in-law and our niece and nephew. This is the closest we have all ever been before!

Another thing. . . we will finally be near the ocean again! It’s the Atlantic – not the Pacific, but hey, it’s ocean! Jeremy has also recently researched a Master’s program in Savannah (only a short distance away also) that he thinks he would like to attend.

Again, God and the Air Force threw us a curve ball (this assignment isn’t even on the current list of bases for Jeremy’s new career field. . . so we had NO IDEA!) But, we are excited for what good things God has in store for us! He has always given us HIS best, and provided perfectly for all our family’s needs (as He promises He will do.) So, we trust His Word on that, and remember all His goodness to us is the past, knowing that He is a God who does not change (Mal 3:6).

Lest you think I think this move is going to be a trip to an amusement park. . .I do know that sometimes God’s best for me and our family will mean/require painful change. We are already very sad to leave an amazing church and friends who have become so special to us. And I don’t enjoy single-parenting, so increasing deployments aren’t something I look forward to. However, if God determines this “good,” then we will bow our hearts to that. (Psalm 73:24 & 84:11) We are thankful that He is a God that we can trust at all times in our family’s life!

Please post if you know someone who lives near the area (check out google maps). This should be lots of fun!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Adina!

My parents retired at Charleston AFB! They live very near by. So, I am sorry to hear about the probable deployments. But I am excited that you will be close enough to visit! Yea!

Maybe we will actually get to have that tea together!

Love you,
Cassie

Comment by Cassie

I was TDY there once and totally fell in love with the area! It is on our list of bases to maybe retire at! I think you guys will like it a lot there!

Comment by Deb

Adina,

What a surprise! I was reading your postings and Charleston AFB jumped off the page. As Cassie said in her note, Dara and I live in the Charleston area. We have been here since 1997. I am the manager of airline fueling at the Charleston Airport. It will be so good to see you again and meet your family. How exciting.

Comment by Charles Hoke




Leave a Reply

