The Caskey Family


Happy Mother’s Day!
May 14, 2007, 2:25 am
Filed under: Adina

mothersday20071.jpg dscn2567.jpg

My mom told me that the best career a woman could have when she “grew up” was to be a mommy. And she was right – but of course she would know, she was Mommy to nine blessings!

How amazing that God has seen fit to give some of us the opportunity to preach the Gospel to our children’s hearts for years at a time! This Mother’s Day, I say with the apostle Paul, “For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and Him crucified (if I cannot teach my children anything besides this, I will still count my career as a mom a success). I came to you in weakness and fear, (what Mom doesn’t feel this regularly!?) and with much trembling (that too!). My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, (if I had to have these, you could have counted me out of motherhood!) but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power, (it’s not me, but the Spirit at work in me. . . what a relief!) so that your faith might not rest on men’s wisdom, but on God’s power (my desire for my children as they grow is not that they think I am great, but that GOD is great and anything good has come from HIS power). Romans 2:2-5”

So today as we thank our Moms for all they have done, I thank God for what HE did in giving me a godly mother. I also thank Him today (as well as other times!) for giving me spiritual mothers who have blessed me with godly leadership and love at various points in my life. You ladies know who you are! God bless you for nurturing me so that I can nurture my little ones. The things you and my mother taught me live on and bear fruit in the lives of Elijah and Merry as I serve Jesus Christ as their mom.

Here’s to all the mothers I know. . . smile and count yourself blessed – God saw fit to choose you as someone’s mother, to be used as the teacher of their hearts – what a big job, and what a big blessing!

The two pictures are of me and my mom, and me (as a mom) and my daughter Merry today, Mother’s Day 2007.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow! What a blessing our moms are!
What you wrote is really encouraging, especially to those of us who, Lord willing, desire to become mothers one day! What a high and precious calling!
From the little I’ve been blessed to see, I think you’re an awesome mother; full of the Spirit! It is really encouraging to see the joy and fulfillment that you find in filling your role as a wife and mother!!!
I really like that picture of you and your mom, and then the one of you and Merry!!! 🙂
God bless you!!!

Comment by ( : Katelyn : )

For those of you that don’t know, the secret is out. . .Katelyn (comment left above) is the young lady betrothed to my brother David!

Comment by icaskey

Adina,

Your Mother’s Day message is so very encouraging to me, and true. God is so good to take such weak vessels and use us as moms. I don’t deserve the priviledge. It is lots of hard work being a godly mom, but it is sooooooo worth it.

The picture of you and your mom made me cry. She really did pour out her life as a drink offering for her children, didn’t she. I remember her as a godly woman who trusted in the Lord and leaned on Him for strength.

I hope it works out for you and the little ones to go with Jeremy this summer.

Love you,
Cassie

Comment by Cassie

What a beautiful sentiment, Adina. I had a difficult Mother’s day this year, as I missed my mom more than normal. It was more than made up for later, however, when Samuel and I got to talk about the Gospel and he made a decision for Christ. Now there’s a mother’s day I’ll never forget!!

Mother’s day is a special day to me professionally, too, because I always take time to think back to all of the mothers I’ve helped. I love watching strong and beautiful young women of God grow into faithful and loving Godly mothers. It’s the best part of my job. (((hugs)))

Comment by edenwaybirth

Praise the Lord, Charlotte, for giving your Samuel a new heart. . . I so long to see my children follow Jesus too! What a beautiful thing that you got to see evidence of God’s call on His life (to follow Him) on Mother’s Day!
I’m with you, I miss my Mom intensely on many Mother’s Days. After she died it surprised me that grief would show up on that day. . . why not on her birthday or even the anniversary of her death? 11 years later, I have reasoned that I miss her most on the days I remember the most of her. On holidays, and Mother’s Day especially, as I take her role (Mom) in my own family, I feel her presence missing more than any other day. I wish she was here to talk to or ask questions of, or see her grandchildren and bless them. Thankfully, I have eternity to look forward to for that!

So, here’s to you. . . a great big hug from the Midwest (they are rare here – I’ve learned that it’s not a huggy culture up here in the colder states!)

Comment by icaskey




Leave a Reply

