The Caskey Family


I’ll Call You From the Top
December 17, 2013, 9:57 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Image

 

Elijah announced to me a few days ago that he wants to climb Mount Everest some day.  My knee-jerk reaction was, “NOOOOO!” which I quickly adjusted to, “No you can’t . . .unless you train for it.”  We did some searching and I decided to show all of them the 1998 Everest movie.  Just 43 minutes of information that would either convince him that he must try it someday, or scare him away.  

As we watched, he was horrified at some of the feats of strength and amazing acts of work, danger and training, and in the last few minutes of the film, announced to me his decision:

“Well, Mom, I’ll call you from the top when I get there to tell you I made it, just in case I die on the way down.”  

“Awww, thanks bud.”

That’s my boy. . .my boy growing into a young man who will do things I have no desire to do.  And I’m thankful I get to be his Momma.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Such a comforting thought! :) He is so sweet.

Comment by Cassie

I know, right? If I want him to be a man, I have to step on my desire to protect him from danger and step out of his way, maybe even find the courage to push him along in his desire to take risks, even though every fiber of my being just wants to keep him safe!

Comment by icaskey




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

